2021 WAYJO Composer Residencies Open

Since its launch in 2008, the WA Youth Jazz Orchestra (WAYJO) Composer in Residence program has commissioned new frontiers in jazz ensemble works from emerging Australian composers.

Annually offering young writers generous commissions and artistic mentorship to develop fresh jazz works for new audiences, while enhancing arranging and conducting skills, WAYJO supports two emerging composers to develop works, between 6-8 minutes in length, for 18-piece big band.

The $2K Associate and $4k Composer residency programs are run under the guidance of WAYJO’s Artistic Director, Dr Mace Francis (winner – 2015 APRA/AMCOS Jazz Work of the Year and international Scrivere in Jazz prize; finalist – Freedman Jazz Fellowship; 2017 Prelude Gallop House Composer Residency).

“The opportunity to write for a regularly rehearsing big band is one that does not come along too often” states Dr Mace Francis. “It allows you to write with courage and try bold and challenging ideas. Each of the young composers who have participated in this program have gone on to create great bands, recordings, and contributed their voice to the Australian jazz scene.”

This is a rare opportunity for composers to create new music for a big band without major creative restrictions or boundaries. Forward thinking, creative ways in which to utilise a big band’s instrumentation, personnel and skills (as largely doubling instrumentalists), are all openly encouraged to help the art form move forward.

Previous recipients around Australia include Rafael Karlen (QLD), Alice Humphries (WA), Jenna Cave (NSW), Andrew Murray (VIC), Brodie McAllister (QLD), Elliott Hughes (VIC), Tim Newhouse (WA), Rafael Jerjen (NSW), Joshua Hatcher (QLD), Scott van Gemert (VIC), and Des Cannings (NSW).

Applications open 9.00am Monday 8 March, 2021 – and close Friday 30 April, 2021 at 5.00pm AWST.

For more information about WAYJO’s composer in residence program and commissioning, please visit wayjo.com/composer-in-residence